We can assist you with traffic cases - from speeding to DUI
If you got a speeding ticket in Halifax County, Virginia, we may be able to help. In certain cases, the judge is willing to reduce a speeding violation to defective equipment. A defective equipment conviction is a non-moving violation that does not carry any demerit points. For the judge to consider reducing the charge to defective equipment, you must have a good driving record and you must complete an 8-hour, in-person, DMV or AAA approved driver improvement course. The course does not have to be taken in Virginia, but can be taken in your home state. These courses are readily available throughout the country.
If we represent you, you will not have to appear in court. We can appear for you and request that the court allow you to take a driver improvement course. Generally, we will need a copy of your driving record and an affidavit (which we will provide) that you have not taken a driver improvement course within the previous five years. If the judge allows you to take the course, you will be given about 8 weeks to complete the course and return the certificate of completion to the court.
If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), the option of taking the driver improvement court is not available under Virginia law, but the Judge may be willing to reduce the charge if you have a good driving record.
For more information about our representation of you on a traffic case, please contact our traffic legal assistant Luann Saunders at 434-830-0647 or E-Mail Luann.
Required Disclosure: CASE RESULTS DEPEND UPON A VARIETY OF FACTORS UNIQUE TO EACH CASE AND THE RESULTS OF PAST CASES DO NOT GUARANTEE OR PREDICT A SIMILAR RESULT IN ANY FUTURE CASE